National Science and Technology Council Establishes Subcommittee on Smart Grid


July 12, 2010

The National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) Committee on Technology announced that it has established a subcommittee on Smart Grid. The purpose of the subcommittee is to establish an interagency process that will further the goals of President Obama’s comprehensive energy plan and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. Specifically, the Subcommittee on Smart Grid will provide policy recommendations and guidance for development of the administration’s Smart Grid policy.

The Smart Grid is a vital component of President Obama’s comprehensive energy plan, which aims to reduce harmful greenhouse gas emissions and U.S. dependence on oil, create jobs, and help U.S. industry compete in global markets for clean energy technology. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 included $11 billion for Smart Grid technologies, transmission system expansion and upgrades, and other investments to modernize and enhance the electric infrastructure to improve energy efficiency and reliability

Specific functions of the Subcommittee on Smart Grid include:

  • Articulating a vision for Smart Grid technology and the core priorities and opportunities for development of the Smart Grid

  • Facilitating a strong, coordinated effort across federal agencies to develop Smart Grid policy

  • Developing a framework for administration policy related to the Smart Grid that will be described in a public report.

The report that the subcommittee will prepare for the NSTC’s Committee on Technology will articulate a vision for the Smart Grid; provide analysis of the social costs, benefits, and issues related to the Smart Grid; identify barriers to Smart Grid deployment; and make policy recommendations for federal, state, and local policymakers to overcome those barriers.

The following federal departments and agencies are represented on the NSTC Subcommittee on Smart Grid:

  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Energy
  • Department of Homeland Security
  • Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Department of Justice
  • Environmental Protection Agency
  • General Services Administration
  • Executive Office of the President

    • Council on Environmental Quality
    • National Economic Council
    • Office of Science and Technology Policy
    • Office of Management and Budget
    • Council of Economic Advisors.

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and other independent agencies will be represented on the subcommittee in an advisory capacity, and other departments may be added.

The Subcommittee on Smart Grid of the NSTC Committee on Technology is envisioned as a standing subcommittee, with an evolving set of responsibilities and an ongoing mandate to catalyze, support, and elevate the quality of the government’s involvement in the Smart Grid.