Skip to main content

Guide to NIST Information Security Documents

July 31, 2009

National Institute of Standards and Technology


There are over 300 National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) information security documents. This number includes Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS), the Special Publication (SP) 800 series, Information Technology Laboratory (ITL) Bulletins, and NIST Interagency Reports (NIST IR). These documents are typically listed by publication type and number, or by month and year in the case of the ITL Bulletins. In order to make NIST information security documents more accessible, this guide lists documents by topic, type, and number. The guide is updated bi-annually to include new documents, topic clusters, and legal requirements, as well as to update any shifts in document mapping that is appropriate. To see the list of all NIST security reports, click here

The Department of Energy's Office of Electricity (OE) recognizes that our nation's sustained economic prosperity, quality of life, and global competitiveness depends on an abundance of secure, reliable, and affordable energy resources. OE leads the Department of Energy's efforts to ensure a resilient, and flexible electricity system in the United States. Learn more about OE >>

None:prod None build None